“Good friends, good books, and a sleepy conscience: this is the ideal life.” ― Mark Twain

Since my Electronic Communication class is over– Lately I have been haunted by what I wanted this blog to become. I’ve loved blogging and writing, but I was unsure if I would be able to write freely, minus any prompting and be able to think of my own unique content. Throughout my last posts, I have written about various topics, but overall, English, Literature, Feminism, and My own Social Media habits have remained stagnant topics of discussion. Although writing about social media is interesting to me I believe I have to think of my own small audience and what they want to read about. So that leaves English, Literature, and Feminism as potential topics.

One of the hardest things to find, and yes I am admitting to this, is a Sparknotes for things that aren’t mainstream or classic literature. Reading thousands of pages a week can be difficult and sometimes it is necessary to take a few shortcuts, and with a lot of books I was assigned I would have loved a summary of some short or a discussion on the book. I think what I would like this blog to become is an un-mainstreamed book summary/discussion/opinion of my leisure summer reading. (YES I am finally going to do some fun reading this summer!)

I have decided that with the occasional random blog post, I would like to review books and continue to write about feminism, including feminism within literature, as I would like that to take me somewhere someday. I believe strongly that there is a lack of female characters within literature and analyzing that will be a major topic for me as well. I love actively searching for strong characters and writing about what makes them strong, or what makes the writing strong overall.

With all of that being said I wanted to preview my summer reading, all of which I just purchased through Barnes and Noble’s website!

I hope that through this blog I will be able to review these novels, write a successful summary, and encourage people to read the books that I enjoyed on their own! I hope you stick with me this summer as I carry out these goals.

44030828fa505e4a7fe9537e5ea217ff

 

*Comment below if you have a book recommendation for me or are looking for me to read one of the above books first!

Leave a Reply

