“You can’t label yourself with words, it is what you do everyday that defines you” -Raimy Diaz

One of my first blog posts focused on my online avatar or my online self. I focused more on who I am online rather than who I wish to be and at the time I didn’t see myself changing much. I focused on letting others speak for me and hoped that my personality was evident within the tweets that I retweeted or the Facebook posts that I shared and people would look at these shared pieces and connect them to me. Earlier this evening, speaking with my fiancé about changing some of the pictures hanging from our walls in our living room I went to open Pinterest and he responded, criticising me, wishing for me to be original in my actions and become the person whose pin gets repinned over and over. I sat and thought about how right he was, that as original I am in my every day life, I lack the drive via the internet, and why should that be the case?

Studying social media as much as I have to this point, I realize the sharing and retweeting epidemic may not be the best choice, and it is with some hesitation that I am focusing this blog post on a new story of self; what my new online self will become.

I now realize how important it is to have your own online voice and not let people speak for you every step of the way. As much as I love what others have created and love letting it speak for what I feel, I haven’t focused on what I am capable of saying with my own online self. I haven’t given myself the ability to be retweeted.

Over the last month the focus has been GHD and the nonprofits that were part of this amazing day that raised so much money. But what is dawning on me recently, I can only imagine if nonprofits just continually shared and retweeted another nonprofits work, or perhaps even one singular nonprofit, the day would not have been as successful as it is. Every single nonprofit used their own online self to post on social media, saving sharing or retweeting for another day, and definitely using it less frequently. Originality, storytelling, and a strong voice is what captures your audience. Things are not nearly as reflective on you if the work comes from another author.

So as much as I love sharing, retweeting, pinning, and reblogging I think it is time for me to make something of my own. My call to action for this blog is for you to do the same- write a Facebook status that means something, or a Tweet with a link, and write it to someone who has made an impact in your life, or write it to your favorite organization to tell them what they have done and how it has changed you. That’s what I intend to do, let your true voice shine, don’t be the echo. Be original every day.

image

One comment

Leave a Reply

